Party @ Bocks

At the end, Doc reads Black Marigolds as the party seeps into mellow,

Even now
If I saw her lying all wide eyes
And with collyrium the indent of her cheek
Lengthened to the bright ear and her pale side
So suffering the fever of my distance,

After beer and wine comes sweet music, laughter and bliss @ Bock’s party. Mrs Sniffle and I had us a blast.

Mac and the boys eventually succeed in having the party they wanted for Doc. The wineing jug had been saved for weeks and there’s a good drunk to it. The boys scrubbed up and the gals were in great form. The fight with gate crashers was a good one which ultimately ends in friendship. No opera music that evening, happy people cuddled up as Doc read,

Even now
If my girl with lotus eyes came to me again
Weary with the dear weight of young love,
Again I would give her to these starved twins of arms
And from her mouth drink down the heavy wine,
As a reeling pirate bee in fluttered ease

A group of eclectic and friendly people, the spice of life this friend making. Perfect strangers for a nano second, people introduce themselves and quickly find common ground or mutual friends and acquaintances. And it happens easily cause Bock nurtures us and with hospitality and generosity.

And the Gods cooperate too, delivering the one clear evening in month of gray overcast skies. I think we were three generations and all were thoughtfully provided for. It’d a had been a while since I’d been gleefully wasted, gummy lip wasted, taxi journey home a flashing black and white collage wasted, beaming happy wasted.

Even now
If I saw her lying all wide eyes
And with collyrium the indent of her cheek
Lengthened to the bright ear and her pale side
So suffering the fever of my distance,

I left as an electric guitar picked over two acoustics and mellow people were singing songs. The party was but a pup but the lill Sniffles need carin.  In my brain I hear Doc reading,

Even now
I love long black eyes that caress like silk,
Ever and ever sad and laughing eyes,
Whose lids make such sweet shadow when they close
It seems another beautiful look of hers.
I love a fresh mouth, ah, a scented mouth,
And curving hair, subtle as a smoke,
And light fingers, and laughter of green gems.

Leave a Reply

