Diagonal

Rounding our front pillar, sharp winter evening, transfixed.

Naked bulb orange bright, framing the pokey garage converted front room against a star sparkly black. 

Inside the boy, stone still, book in hand, leaning diagonally across his winter canvas,

Head an inquisitive tilt, appearing to drink the words.

All winter muffled, Advent echoes adsorbed, breath condenses in gasps.

If by some hatchet means a lucky soul should be blinded, they will count their blessings for his turquoise deep pools.

He still kisses me on my lips.

25 responses to “Diagonal

  1. 3 nights in a row I’ve read this.

    Makes me feel like I know someone is about to burst a balloon near me.

  2. Hi xbox, I asked everyone here about the balloon thing and, to a teenager, they were sorta cowering. I hope I didn’t make you cower.

  3. I’ve done it again, no, just kind of ‘squee’ nervous excitement that I know will come to an abrupt end.

    Redeemed?

  4. Thanks Xbox, it’s about a boy, our eldest boy. I saw him one evening but he hadn’t seen me and I watched for a little while. I read Gimme recently, also about seeing his kid just “being”. It was that type of thing. Hey, thanks for dropping by and for the comments, much appreciated.

  5. I’m quite pleased with myself now, because that’s what I imagined it to be.

    Stopping and really watching people you normally see everyday can be delightful.

  6. Hi Xbox, thanks and yes that’s it, and you have to hold yourself (in a non-pervy, metaphorical way) and not make a contact, but there’s something good about it. Like somehow we’ve picked good people to be with, and there’s something almost spiritual because of that.

    Hello unstranger, come in, a cup of tea maybe? I’m a bit hit and miss on the blog so apologies but thanks much for the kind comment. I see you all the time on Bock too, a place which keeps us all on our toes.

  7. I love watching people (ok, the wife) smiling or laughing at something else, it’s like watching them at work when you normally don’t see them in that environment.

    Shows you other sides, I like that.

  8. A lot of inspirational work goes into this blog, that’s plain for all to see.

  9. Sniff, thanks for sharing.

    xxxxx

  10. To think I’ve been in that room.

    An honour. xxx

  11. Hey Jimmy, thanks man.
    Hi @17, woohoo.
    Hi Dev, yep , you know the place.
    Jimmy, @17 and Dev, Thanks for calling by.

  12. i’ve read this a few times and it JUST hit me why i couldn’t comment earlier. i miss my children, sugar. xoxoxo

  13. Hey Sniff,woohoo to you too,

    You put things so brilliantly (I wanted to say something else but I couldnt spell it, however, you get the jiste).

    I’m with you. Our kids are treasures.

  14. Hi Savannah, you are the most generous of commenters on the blogatomasphere. I see you all the time on the others, encouraging and always positive. Thanks much and super duper chic on your own.
    @17, I loved that song and I know you did/do too. And we also are are treasures, still sparkly treasures. Ta.

  15. I got meself talking to the big Jimmy boy over a pint or two last night. Your name along with a few others came highly rated as worth a look-see.

    I’ll be launching my own blog soon. If it’s as good this un I’ll be a happy gal.

  16. Hiya Big Ferdy,

    Best of luck with your blog. Apart from Jimmy’s blog, I also strongly recommend Xbox above, also Sav and four more not commenting here, Gimmeaminute, Problemchildbride, rant.ie and the Swearing Lady on the arse end of Ireland.

    Good luck now

  17. Sniffle, beautifully written. Your blog is where I come to smear myself in culture (that sounded more lasciviously than I’d hoped) before skulking back to my own hovel and descending back into the gloom, eating tins of beans straight from the can with my hand, and revelling in my own decay…..(sigh)….can I stay here for a while?

    Terrific work (oh, and I stuck you on my Blogroll if you don’t mind).

  18. Thanks Begrudger, I think you are the brightest thing out there at the moment, and a breath of fresh air. Your stuff is unique, so well crafted and side splittingly funny. Thanks for linking me. I’ll add you here, though it’ll do you no good at all. No culture here btw., no, not sure what is here, or where it’s going to be honest.

    So anyone passing by, if you want to read something really clever which will make you giggle out loud, check our Mr Begrudger.

  19. Pingback: Sometimes « Sniffle&Cry’s Weblog

  20. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have created some nice practices and we are looking to exchange methods with other
    folks, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  21. I’m very pleased to uncover this site. I want to to thank you
    for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely savored every part of it and i
    also have you book-marked to look at new stuff in your
    blog.

  22. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or
    guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would really
    like to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would enjoy your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  23. Very soon this web site will be famous among all blogging visitors, due to it’s
    fastidious articles or reviews

  24. Hi there, its nice piece of writing concerning media print, we
    all be aware of media is a enormous source of facts.

Leave a Reply

